L’arrivo di Wang by the Manetti Bros. is the seventh feature film in Controcampo italiano, and in competition for the Controcampo Award (for narrative feature-length films)

L'arrivo di Wang - photo by Barbara Oizmud

L’arrivo di Wang, a psychological-science fiction story written, directed and produced by the Manetti Bros., with Ennio Fantastichini and Francesca Cuttica, is the seventh feature film announced for Controcampo italiano, and in competition for the Controcampo Award (for narrative feature-length films).

L’arrivo di Wang is a production of Manetti Bros. Film, in collaboration with Rai Cinema, and will be distributed in Italy and abroad by Dania Film, Pepito Produzioni, Surf Film.

L’arrivo di Wang stars Ennio Fantastichini, Francesca Cuttica, Li Yong, Juliet Esay Joseph, Antonello Morroni, and Jader Giraldo.

It is the story of Gaia, an interpreter of Chinese, who has been summoned for an urgent and very secret translation assignment. She is greeted by Curti, an unscrupulous agent, who must interrogate the mysterious Mister Wang. But for reasons of secrecy, the interrogation takes place in the dark and Gaia is unable to translate properly… When the light comes back on, Gaia discovers why the identity of Mister Wang was kept secret. This discovery will change her life forever… and not just hers.

The Manetti Bros. are known in Italian cinema for their love of genre films. They have directed feature-length films, including DeGenerazione (1995), Torino Boys (1997), Zora vampira (Zora the Vampire, 2000); Piano 17 (2005), and L’arrivo di Wang (2011).  They also directed L’ispettore Coliandro (2006-2010), several episodes of the television series Crimini (2006), and many video clips for famous Italian singers such as Max Pezzali, Alex Britti, Piotta, Flaminia Maphia, and Assalti Frontali.

The other, previously announced, films in competition for the Controcampo Award (for narrative feature-length films) are:

Scialla! by Francesco Bruni (debut film)

with Fabrizio Bentivoglio, Barbora Bobulova, Filippo Scicchitano, Vinicio Marchioni, Giuseppe Guarino, and Prince Manujibeya.

Maternity Blues by Fabrizio Cattani (second film)

with Andrea Osvart, Monica Birladeanu, Chiara Martegiani, Marina Pennafina, Daniele Pecci, and Pascal Zullino.

Cose dell’altro mondo by Francesco Patierno

with Diego Abatantuono,Valerio Mastandrea, Valentina Lodovini, Sandra Collodel, Grazia Schiavo, and Maurizio Donadoni.

Qualche Nuvola by Saverio Di Biagio (debut film)

with Greta Scarano, Michele Alhaique, Primo Reggiani, Giorgio Colangeli, Aylin Prandi, and Elio Germano.

Cavalli by Michele Rho (debut film)

with Vinicio Marchioni, Michele Alhaique, Giulia Michelini, Asia Argento, and Andrea Occhipinti.

Tutta colpa della musica by Ricky Tognazzi

with Stefania Sandrelli, Ricky Tognazzi, Marco Messeri, Elena Sofia Ricci, Debora Villa, and Monica Scattini.

  The Jury of Controcampo italiano, chaired by director Roberta Torre (who opened Controcampo italiano at the 2010 Venice Film Festival with the international hit I baci mai dati [Lost Kisses]), also includes the director and screenwriter Aureliano Amadei, winner of the Controcampo italiano Award 2010 with 20 sigarette (the film also won four David di Donatello and two Nastri d’Argento) and actress Cristiana Capotondi, one of the revelations of Italian cinema in recent years, acclaimed last year in La passione by Carlo Mazzacurati, in Competition at the 67th Venice International Film Festival.

The winning director for narrative feature-length films will be awarded negative film to a value of 30,000 Euro, offered by Kodak.