International Jury of Venezia 67

The International Jury for the Competition at the 67th Venice International Film Festival has been selected, with American director and screenwriter Quentin Tarantino as president.

The Jury will award the official prizes of the 67th Venice International Film Festival, which will take place on the Lido from September 1 through 11 2010, directed by Marco Mueller and organized by la Biennale di Venezia, chaired by Paolo Baratta.

The personalities selected to compose the Jury are:

The Mexican Guillermo Arriaga, considered one of the most influential Latin-American writers (his most famous novels include , include The Night Buffalo, A Sweet Smell of Death, and Guillotine Squad), scriptwriter for the acclaimed films by Alejandro Gonzáles Iñárritu Amores Perros, 21 Grams and Babel, he made his debut as a director in The Burning Plain, in Competition at Venice in 2008;

Lithuan actress Ingeborga Dapk?nait?, one of the most talented actresses of the Soviet Union who thanks to her  acclaimed work on stage and screen (Burnt by the Sun, Moskva) has often joined Hollywood productions (Mission: Impossible, Seven Years in Tibet);

French director and screenwriter Arnaud Desplechin, considered one of the finest heirs to the Nouvelle Vague, often in competition at Cannes, and in Competition at Venice in 2004 with Kings and Queen (Rois et Reine), a film that won all-round acclaim, returning to the Lido in 2007 with his documentary The Beloved (L’Aimée);

American musician and composer Danny Elfman, famous in the ‘70s with the Mystic Knights of Oingo-Boingo music band, and in the ‘80s became one of the most important composers of film soundtracks (60 scores to his credit) of his generation. In particular he is the author of the scores for Tim Burton’s films (he also is the voice of Jack Skellington) and for many other major Hollywood directors;

Italian director and screenwriter Luca Guadagnino, one of the most important in new Italian cinema, associated with Venice since his debut as a director (The Protagonists, 1999), and subsequently returning to the Lido three more times, last year with the extraordinary success of I am Love (Io sono l’amore), presented in the Orizzonti section, which is now winning great international acclaim, screened at many festivals and sold in 23 countries;

And director and screenwriter Gabriele Salvatores, Oscar recipient for Mediterraneo in 1991, among the Italian authors internationally more appreciated, and now enjoying great success once again for Happy Family, a choral comedy that has conquered the acclaim of audience and critics, here and in America.

On the closing night of the Venice Film Festival (September 11 2010), the International Jury of Venezia 67 will award the official prizes to the feature-length films in competition: the Golden Lion for Best Film, the Silver Lion for Best Director, the Special Jury Prize, the Coppa Volpi for Best Male Actor, the Coppa Volpi for Best Female Actress, the Premio Marcello Mastroianni for Best New Young Actor or Actress, the Osella for Best Technical Contribution, and the Osella for Best Screenplay.